What 26 taught me…

I won’t lie, I got this idea from leslielaughs.com, I thought it was a pretty inspiring blog topic.

Obviously, if you know me, you know I turned 27 exactly one week ago. And even though I’ve been 27 for a week, I don’t know… I think after maybe 23 the 20’s kind of just start to fuse together almost. I never really know what age I am most days lol. But knowing that I’m that much closer to 30 is sort of depressing. My cousin left me a comment a few nights ago saying you don’t really live until you’re 30 lol! I’m hoping that’s true.

When I turned 26, I was finally living on my own, in a completely different state, across the country and working at my dream job. And I thought, at 25 I had it allllll figured out. Myself, anyway. But because life is an asshole sometimes, obviously I was wrong. I think removing yourself from your comfort zone forces you to see things you probably never would had to face if you never left. With that said…

  1. Contrary to what I’d like to believe, I’m a pretty jealous person (and trust me, it PAINS me to admit this). But I realize I have irrational fears about things that aren’t true and I need to learn how to overcome these fears, I just don’t really know… how
  2. I’m fully capable of living on my own and taking care of myself, and I do a pretty damn good job of it
  3. Washing your hair every other day instead of EVERY SINGLE DAY is sort of liberating
  4. Sleeping at 4am now is not the same as sleeping at 4am when you were in high school, you. will. regret. it
  5. Staying away from soda and fast food does indeed make you feel like a whole new person
  6. I prefer the hot and humid over the cold and dry (it does wonders for my hair and skin)
  7. I CAN work a whole month straight and not call in or or be late if I really wanted to
  8. Old habits die hard
  9. I can find comfort anywhere I go, I just have to be open to find it
  10. I’m not as boring as I think I am
  11. I’m capable of making friends — not everyone is out to get you, some people really are interested in being your friend
  12. M does try his hardest to make you happy, give the boy a little more credit than that
  13. Just as you strive to be your own person, don’t be an asshole, M strives to be his own person too
  14. If your passions suddenly switch gears, IT’S OKAY. Don’t beat yourself up for it
  15. Bad things in life will happen, and even on the nights you feel alone, you’re not, I know that’s something that’s hard to get use to… but just know you’re not
  16. Stress. will. fuck. you. up
  17. If you stroll through the mall with $100 in your pocket and find nothing to blow it on, IT’S OKAY. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH YOU, PROMISE
  18. If you don’t take days to do nothing at all (shh calm down, it’s okay) then you’ll hate yourself the rest of the week
  19. Cooking is actually really fun and I actually don’t suck at it
  20. DO NOT PUT DISH WASHING SOAP IN THE DISH WASHING MACHINE, EVER!!!

I don’t know why I wrote that in 3rd person and then in first person… it’s my blog, I can do that I guess lol.

Point is, I’ve learned a lot in the last year. A lot more than I thought I did… but living on your own teaches you a lot. It wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be either, I kind of enjoyed it (I didn’t however, enjoy realizing how many rolls of toilet paper I go through in a week). I think it’s both frustrating and interesting when you’re put in situations that force you to realize maybe you don’t know yourself as well as you thought you did. And even though I’ve been married for almost 2 1/2 years, I think figuring out how to be in a marriage is sort of like figuring yourself out, it’s going to take a lifetime to understand! But that’s okay, I think if you have someone who’s willing to learn with you it’s not so bad. I just need to learn to stop being jealous, things that happened in the past can’t hurt me anymore if I chose for them not to.

Here’s to being 27, and hopefully learning a little bit more about life.

Sorry if this entry is sort of all over the place, I have a big ass headache and all I can think about is goawaygoawaygoaway!!!

Leave a Reply

