Books

Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter me by Tahereh Mafi*
Shatter Me #1
Published: November 15th, 2011
Genre: Young Adult > Dystopia
Rating: 6 out of 5 (seriously)
Source: Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review (Thank you Amazon Vine!)
Summary:
Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
 

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

 

 

Guys, if you like The Hunger Games then I would suggest this book. It has action, suspense, a little more romance (there’s a scene in the shower that’s just — wow. Hottest YA shower kissing scene — EVER) and it’s incredibly fast paced. Also, it was one of my top 3 reads of 2011 and I finished it under 12 hours. Yeah, seriously.

Shatter Me took me by complete surprise. It was one of my anticipated reads of 2011, but I was not expecting it to grab me and throw me around. Emotions. EVERYWHERE. The whole day I would put it down and tell myself I’ll go do something else and read more before bed but that didn’t work out because like a fly to a light it magically kept appearing back in my hands before I gave up, accepted the fact I wasn’t going to get anything done that day and finished the book.

Shatter Me is a bit of a dystopia based novel. The world is in crumbles but Juliette, our main character is stuck in a holding cell. Her parents sent her away because she has the ability to suck life from people. And so the book starts off with her telling us that she has not touched another person in 264 days. Until one day, a boy she recognizes is thrown into her cell with her. The prison knows what she’s capable of, why would they throw another person into the cell with her?

Juliette’s voice was strong. Especially in the beginning when it was just her and her notebook. Being in her mind made you feel trapped, much like how Juliette felt. You could feel the core of her loneliness and sadness and once she figures out who this “mystery” boy is, betrayal. Overall, I loved Juliette. She was snarky, she stood her ground and she had this incredibly faith in humanity despite what her life has been like. I really admired that.

Adam, oh Adam. He was completely, COMPLETELY swoon-worthy. The way he cared for Juliette was obvious and the risks he was willing to take to make sure she was safe and to assure her she could trust him were sweet.

Warner on the other hand, I think he’s a bit misunderstood. Sure the guy is a little power hungry, a little impatient, a little bit of an asshole but maybe if he just sat down, relaxed and thought things through he might be an okay person. Maybe, just maybe.

Kenji was also one of my favorite characters. He was the *best* comic relief ever haha!

Favorite Line

“Go to hell.”
He works his jaw. Walks to the door. “I’m working on it.”

&&

“You can make yourself invisable?” Adam looks more irritated than interested.
“Just blew your mind, didn’t I?”

LOL!

Leave a Reply

