Reflecting

Taking chances…

You don’t know about my past, and
I don’t have a future figured out
And maybe this is going too fast
And maybe it’s not meant to last

But what do you say to taking chances?

Taking Chances covered by Glee

One day, I fell in love with a boy. A boy different from any other boy I’ve ever met. He blended in the background, he was mysterious and he was quiet. He was strange, he kept a lot of himself a secret but he had kind eyes and a an enchanting smile.

Learning about him was interesting, he’d slip every now and then. Reveling bits and pieces of himself, of his past and at times I could tell he really trusted me and I could tell that he didn’t trust a lot of people and that this was hard for him. But at the time, I couldn’t understand why he trusted me. I couldn’t understand why he was even investing all this time in me. I was a bad person, who was going through a bad situation. Who didn’t know much about who she was anymore and I was scared. Of everything.

I had known this boy before someone else shattered me. He was the the mornings I would come to school in a hoodie, unbrushed hair and puffy eyes. He knew I had cried the night before on many mornings. He knew I was trying to hide. And he was there, every morning, poking me and talking to me about absolutely nothing at all. He was there trying to make me laugh and smile even though it didn’t make sense to. He didn’t know exactly what was going on, but he knew I needed a friend. And he was that.

Life can be complicating. Especially when you’re a teenager trying to figure everything out. The bridge between a kid and an adult is a hazy, fuzzy mess of a place. Falling in love with a boy, even if he feels like home, can be scary.

But despite the situations, the drama and the circumstances, we both took that chance. Two damaged kids with failed relationships and a very blurry unpromising future managed to fix each other the best they could and if they accomplished nothing, at least they found the person that they were meant to best friends with forever.

I’m glad you took that chance on me, and I’m glad I took that chance on you.

You were worth it.

Even if you do make me mad all the time (:

I’m just sorry OCD robbed you of the girl you fell in love with.

I miss her too, and she misses you.

Leave a Reply

