Book Review: Things I Can’t Forget by Miranda Kenneally

Things I Can’t Forget by Miranda Kenneally
Hundred Oaks #3
Published: March 1st, 2013 from Sourcebooks Fire
Genre
: Young Adult > Contemporary
Rating
: 2 out of 5
Source
: From publisher via NetGalley (Thank you Sourcebooks Fire!)
Summary
:
Kate has always been the good girl. Too good, according to some people at school—although they have no idea the guilty secret she carries. But this summer, everything is different…

This summer she’s a counselor at Cumberland Creek summer camp, and she wants to put the past behind her. This summer Matt is back as a counselor too. He’s the first guy she ever kissed, and he’s gone from a geeky songwriter who loved The Hardy Boys to a buff lifeguard who loves to flirt…with her. Kate used to think the world was black and white, right and wrong. Turns out, life isn’t that easy…

~*~

Things I Can’t Forget is a companion novel to Catching Jordan and Stealing Parker both of which I own but haven’t read yet. Thankfully, this is a series where you don’t need to read the first two in order to get the third one.

Kate as a character annoyed the crap out of me. I’m not big on religion, at all. I grew up a Roman Catholic and in 2006 changed my religion so the talk of God and the intensity at which Kate views God and religion sort of annoys me. It doesn’t annoy me that she believes, it annoys me that she tries to shove it down everyone elses throat. She blames herself for “sinning” when she did nothing wrong, the whole time I kept thinking about how freakin over dramatic she was being. She wasn’t her own person with her own thoughts, everything she did (her views on befriending someone or dating someone) was pulled from something someone else said. She didn’t make HER OWN decisions.

So when Matt steps in — a boy she use to go to religion camp with who is now all grown up and in a frat, she doesn’t know what to believe. Could a Christian still be in God’s good graces and be in a frat? Everything to Kate was black and white until she finds herself back at her old camp with a boy and a new friend who help her see that everything isn’t black and white.

I really liked Matt, he was a decent guy. Although he wasn’t that geeky outcasted kid that Kate remembered, he was still funny and caring and the fact that Kate meant so much to him was apparent. Apparent to everyone but Kate (though isn’t that how it always goes? Strange, right?). He was patient with her while she sorted her feelings and her beliefs and never pressured her.

I also really liked Parker (and now I’m very tempted to read Stealing Parker to know her story), she was exactly what Kate needed in order to move on from the things she was holding on to. Also, I just really like Parker cause she’s intense about animal rights. Whoo! Go Parker! 😛

Though I have to be honest, by the time Kate realizes this, I didn’t really care much for her character at all at that point. Although I didn’t enjoy this read as much as I thought I would, I’m still looking forward to the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

