Reflecting

I’m a blogger with no creativity

Guys, I’m gonna be real with you. Nitch blogging is no joke. It’s hard ass work. Sure at first when you’re all inspired and excited and see all the great things you’ll talk about out there it seems as easy as frosting an out of the box cupcake but then you hit the point where you’re just stumped. All the time.

I started blogging in 1999 when my mom finally agreed to let me sign up for AOL. Oh those dial-tones, they were a sound from the heavens! Honestly I started blogging because my mom didn’t know how to use the internet and she wouldn’t quit reading my handwritten journals. I was in high school by then — a freshmen, I had a lot of very private thoughts mom. Geez.

But back then it wasn’t called “blogging”. It was just called, you know, “writing in my online journal”. I started with OpenDiary (which is still up and wanna know a really really embarrassing secret? Only because if there’s anything I love more than food it’s sharing my embarrassing secrets. I blogged about the first time I did it. And I still go back to that very public entry and read it over and over and wow. Just wow.) along with TeenOpenDiary then moved on to DeadJournal, LiveJournal (back when you needed an invite code), Xanga, and various other places that didn’t make it. I miss CrazyLife and GreatestJournal the most.

Pretty much my whole fucked up teen-hood is publicly displayed online on one or two blogs. I regret nothing.

It wasn’t until 2009 I started nitch blogging mainly because by then no one cared about reading other peoples feelings. Even “lifestyle” blogs now that talk about their day/week is still considered a nitch blog. And I really got into makeup — finally. A little TOO into makeup actually. But I loved beauty blogging. I loved keeping up with the trends, playing with makeup and finding the products that worked well for me. It was a lot of fun but it was expensive and it got boring after awhile. So in 2010 I started a book blog and I’ve stuck with that ever since. Reading has always been a passion of mine growing up. I’ve always wanted to be an author and I can’t tell you why I’m not yet.

And now I have a ton of nitch blogs which is what I’m taking a break from right now because I’m stumped. The thing about nitch blogging is yeah, you can find a lot of things to write/review but to set your blog aside from everyone else in your category? Well that’s hard. Finding a way to build a foundation of loyal viewers (this goes for both blogging and YouTube) is a challenge and it takes a lot of hard work. Creating and keeping up with weekly features even though you have nothing to write for it? Hard. I’m not new to this, I’ve done this many many times but even now, I don’t know how to network my new blogs. I don’t know how to even start. I’m kinda just… lost.

The most I can do is put out good content at a steady pace and hope that someone thinks I’m witty enough to want to stick around.

The great thing about writing and blogging is that you’re always learning. There’s always something new to learn. Some new technique to try. And while this can be a frustrating and sometimes disgusting journey, I think that’s the best part — constantly learning.

Leave a Reply

