Reflecting

It’s National Suicide Prevention Day….

And I naturally felt like I should say something.

WordPress recently told me I’ve hit my 3 year mark here and that’s amazing to think about. Considering 3 years ago I was in Cali and it feels like a lifetime ago. The last few months have sucked really hard and the last few weeks have sort of made up for it.

Marriage, I believe, is a very strange thing. It’s everything changes, and nothing changes all at the same time. But you don’t know where that line begins and where it ends and what if you’re both not on the same page? Then what? I haven’t figured out the answer to that yet.

Maybe we should talk about what today is.

I had my first suicidal thought when I was 13. I was sitting on the floor during lunch with my friends, my head rested on the wall behind me and I remember saying, “what would happen if I killed myself?” and my friends at the time were like, “you would die, obviously.”

But as I got older and as things got harder and as I was exposed to abuse, suicide was something that was always heavily on my mind. And the things I would do to kill or silence the pain were things that at the end of the day only made it worse.

When I was 19 I somehow ended up with OCD. I wish I could describe what the feeling is like when OCD and depression team up and feed each other. It’s an intense pain in both your chest and mind that damn near destroys you. And when I finally got help at 21 I decided to take medication, determined to beat both my OCD and my depression.

But that’s not how it really works. Clearly I was no expert on OCD and at the time there wasn’t much that would pop up on Google about it and still to this day no one really knows how it happens. It’s like a silent invisible killer. Creeping around in your brain, hiding and taunting you. Making you believe things that aren’t real and don’t make sense. Making you do things you’re not even aware you’re doing and making you fear life in general. And 21 year old me thought I could heal myself? Shit. I must had had a lot of confidence in myself because I sure did not have a plan.

Now at 29 I finally gave in and got the help I needed. I love my doctor back home for all his understanding and for being such a huge support to me all the years I was in therapy and never pushing medication on me after I declined it all those years ago. And I honestly, would love to pay him a visit when I visit home this year so he can see how much I’ve changed.

For the first time in my life I’m the happiest I’ve ever been. I feel almost like a brand new person. My mind isn’t so foggy anymore and my demons aren’t so loud. I can think for myself, decide for myself and stop myself if I wanted to. I don’t have to do anything I don’t want to. My mind doesn’t betray me every single day.

There is such a stigma for mental illnesses and there is an even bigger stigma for people who take medication for mental illnesses. Still to this day it’s always, “don’t tell anyone, they’ll think you’re crazy.” “keep it to yourself” talked in hushed voices and in fear someone might look at me differently.

But I’m here to say yes I spent the majority of my life suffering from depression and yes I spent the majority of my adulthood suffering from OCD and intrusive thoughts and yes I am on medication and you know what? I feel more alive and more me than I’ve EVER felt and I’m really excited to get to know the 29 year old me who is really just me. I’m excited to see where my life is going from here. I’m excited every morning I wake up. And it’s such a weird feeling but it’s amazing and strange too, all at the same time.

If you’re suffering from depression, from OCD, from anxiety, from anything. You’re not alone. I know it’s so easy to feel like you are and no one would care enough to listen, but you’re wrong. People care. But you have to reach out to them, people can’t read your mind and they don’t know if you’re suffering or not. Talk to a friend, a parent, a trusted older cousin or make an appointment to see a doctor. I won’t lie, it’ll take awhile to find the right one for you but once you do, it’ll change your life. Everything, no matter how dark things are now and how hopeless everything feels, will be okay. If you’ve spent this long suffering from something, think of how easy it’ll be to let it go.

If you need someone to talk to, I’m here too. I might not know you and you might not know me but I do know that I will be here to talk to you and help you out as much as I can. I know it’s not easy and I know it’s scary and dark.

Life is worth living as hard as it is to believe that. And I wish all of you out there who are in the dark find your light.

Leave a Reply

