Hello

The Moving Chronicles | From FL to TX

This is stressing me out. So I figured, why not make a document it. Cause you know me… I like to document everything.

I’ve never moved from state to state that required a moving company and furniture. The last time I moved from CA to FL and back… and back again I had 3 pieces of luggage and that was it. So the move wasn’t that stressful or hard. I mean it was but in different ways. That didn’t cost me over a grand to do.

But this time I have furniture, stuff, important documents and a cat. All of which I need to get from FL to TX. Granted it’s not across the country but it is still proving to be a bit pricey.

My roommate leaves at the end of the month and I found this service on Amazon. As far as I know she hasn’t really ever cleaned/deep cleaned her room or bathroom so I figure I’d use it for when she leaves and they’ll fix everything up. I’ve always been a huge fan of Amazon services since like 2006 so yeah. And it releases some of the stress of me trying to figure out how to pack, clean, sort everything, take care of Sophie and alla that.

I’m just trying to find ways to make this move and process as stress free as I can.

Bubba helped me find a moving service yesterday since I was too stressed to really think. And I managed to find one that will get my things to me within 3 days and is less than the $4200 quote the first company gave me (which I pretty much only have like 6 pieces of IKEA furniture and MAYBE like 20 boxes). This way I won’t have to worry about selling/getting rid of everything through it also means I won’t get to get new things either. But I’ll slowly replace things as time goes on. I can stick with this stuff for another year, not a big deal. But that couch I’m definitely getting rid of. Cause I hate it. I should take the TV stand back from Harmony but I honestly don’t really want it. I don’t really want the coffee table either. Or the extra bookshelf. I want to redo all my stuff and make everything white. Though I do feel like the black is a pop of color from the white walls. But I don’t know. I’ll look up idea’s on Pinterest and see how I feel about things.

Sophie had a vet appt last week and she’s pretty sick. Her kidney is starting to decline so they had me change her diet and make sure she’s drinking water. She has liquid medicine she’s suppose to take for five days that she HATES. She spits most of it up. But I figure as long as she’s taking SOME of it, it’s better than NONE of it. I’m also suppose to sprinkle some powder in her food which I haven’t done yet. And she also has a small ear infection which she typically gets every summer so that part doesn’t bother me too much. She’s always hated the ear drops. But at least she doesn’t scratch it out anymore like she use to. She kinda just shakes her head a bit. Which is fine. I can’t tell if she’s been drinking more or less water though and it’s driving me nuts. But I’m HOPING she’s still drinking as much water as she USUALLY does. She’s been better at not pooping in random places and not throwing up as much, so that’s good. I’m still a little worried about taking her on a plane and I’m hoping Bubba will fly out here to help me but I won’t expect it. It’s just a pain having to take her out of the carrier then to have to put her back in when security check point is already a rushy rushy area. I hate flying sometimes, it stresses me the hell out. But I won’t be carrying anything with me except my purse and Sophie. Though getting a luggage, a backpack, and Sophie down 3 flights of stairs is gonna suck. SIGH.

Which makes me wonder — why the hell am I still in Florida if I have no one and nothing here? Like HOW am I still here? COMPLETELY ON MY OWN?! I feel like I just missed a key point of my life here somewhere. It’s so bizarre to be honest.

I ordered groceries today and I still have left over BBQ I ordered yesterday so I’ll be snacking on that and the groceries I got are pretty much more drinks and they found my Cauliflower Veggie Tots, FINALLY! I’M. SO. EXCITED. They didn’t have the LE Lay’s BLT Chips or the DEW-S-A drink so I’ll probably head out to the store this weekend to find some LE summer stuff because that’s always fun. Plus I haven’t really been out of the house besides taking Sophie to the vet in like 2 weeks.

DSC00764

My mom says she still looks bright and sharp and not to worry so much since she can sense it. Which she does, she looks completely fine. Everything else is pretty healthy except her kidney so that’s still a good sign.

I hope she likes Texas. I hope she likes the big windows in the living room. The first thing I said when I walked in was “OMG Sophie is going to love these windows.”

—–

Today is going to be spent sorting through makeup; especially the makeup bin in my closet and tossing out all my old stuff/stuff I don’t use. Along with sorting through clothes and sorting out the stuff I haven’t worn/don’t plan on wearing and putting it aside for donations.

Figuring out what’s going to go in my luggage to get me through the first 3 days. And what’s going to go in my backpack. Where I’m going to pack my laptop and things like that.

Backing up files.

Blogging.

Sorting through the kitchen, if I can. Trash doesn’t pick up until Sunday so there’s no use in tossing anything in the fridge or freezer until then but if I can get through the pantry and dry foods then okay.

I also need to check the mail.

I need to start packing away DVD’s, books and things like that.

Try and get the area in front of the cubbies sorted out too, packed up or put away. SOMETHING. I also need to figure out what to do with the stuff IN the cubbies between pack them up and sort them as well.

My candles in my bathroom closet and my B&BW soaps and body washes are gonna be a pain to pack but figure something out with those too.

Toss the candy in the bin on my bookshelf.

Give Sophie her medicine.

Probably NOT going to do anything on FFXIV today.

Have a better idea of what things I’m going to keep and what I’m going to give away/sell.

Burn a few candles.

So yeah, I got a bit of stuff to do today. Hopefully my anxiety doesn’t get in my way.

Leave a Reply

